Caroline and Healthful Plants

Let Me Introduce Myself…

Photo de Caroline, Manager Réglementaire & Formulation chez LÉA NATUREMy name is Caroline Legay and I have a Doctorate in Pharmacy and I am specialized in herbal medicine.
As part of the R&D Department of the LÉA NATURE Group, I am in charge of developing dietary supplements that are essentially plant-based.

 

My Life As a Researcher

I am in charge of a team that works in three different areas:

  • Regulatory affairs, sourcing and formulation:  choosing raw materials in terms of their performance, in compliance with regulations.  I am also involved in making the initial product in our labs, and then eventually transferring it to the production lines.
  • Management of an interdisciplinary plant department (healthcare, cosmetics and foods) offering a range of support services (purchasing, quality control, formulation) that was created to encourage exchanges and the development of our expertise on plants.
  • Safety:  evaluating the safety of our products, and implementing all the means necessary to warrant product safety.

 

What Is the Best Part of This Job?

Thinking about product composition, that’s my calling.  I love being part of the choice of plant in terms of the desired effect, and thinking about how active ingredients can be complementary so that our formulas can become more and more natural.

 

What is challenging in this job?

Verifying the supplier’s guarantee about the safety and efficacy of the active ingredients.

We evaluate the plants in order to ensure we choose vegetal matter that is fully compliant from a regulatory point of view, and recognized as to its efficacy.

From the moment we start sourcing, we privilege suppliers that are the closest to our production sites and we verify the plants when they are delivered.  We compare samples regularly in terms of the levels of active ingredients contained in each batch, also detailed by producer.

Efficacy testing of the products on healthy subjects is carried out by independent laboratories.  That serves to confirm our choice of plants, as well as our selection and combination of active ingredients.

 

From the Plant to the Dietary Supplement

La santé par les plantesThe choice of a plant is made in terms of the active ingredients it contains, how these are extracted (powder, water, or water/alcohol blend) and how they are used.

After selecting what vegetal matter and extracted active ingredients will go into a product, the formulation and dosage must be determined in terms of packaging, and treatment duration for each dietary supplement.

The formula we come up with at the lab is then tested at the industrial level on a small scale, before launching production for resale.  Since we exclusively work with natural materials that vary in terms of harvests, production areas, processing, and suppliers, we sometimes need to revise the formulation of some of our products.
We also maintain a bibliographical and regulatory watch on the subject of plants, which allows us to further our research and to identify new plants or uses.

 

What is my biggest achievement?

At Léa Nature, we use all natural materials (starches, gums, vegetal extracts) instead of the usual additives used as preservatives, to add color or to facilitate mechanical processing.  This is a strong point in differentiating our products on this dietary supplements market.

Les compléments alimentaires : la santé par les plantes

Présentation et poste occupé

Je suis Caroline Legay et j’ai un diplôme de Doctorat en Pharmacie, spécialisée en Phytothérapie.
Au sein du service R&D du Groupe LÉA NATURE, je suis chargée du développement des compléments alimentaires essentiellement à base de plantes.

 

Ma vie de chercheur

J’anime une équipe qui intervient dans 3 domaines :

  • Réglementation, sourcing, formulation : choix des matières premières en fonction de leur efficacité et dans le respect de la réglementation. Je suis également impliquée dans la réalisation du produit au niveau du laboratoire et à son transfert sur les lignes de fabrication.
  • Gestion d’un pôle plantes multi-métiers (santé, cosmétique et alimentaire) et multi-compétences (services achats, qualité, formulation…) créé dans le but de favoriser l’échange et le développement de notre expertise autour des plantes.
  • Sûreté : évaluation de la sécurité de nos produits, mise en place de moyens permettant de garantir la sécurité des produits.

 

La meilleure partie de ce travail

Réfléchir à la composition des produits est ce qui me passionne le plus. J’aime participer au choix de la plante en fonction du résultat attendu, réfléchir à la complémentarité des actifs et faire évoluer les formules vers plus de naturalité.

 

La sélection des ingrédients

Il faut s’assurer des garanties apportées par le fournisseur en termes de sécurité et d’efficacité des actifs végétaux.

Nous effectuons une évaluation des plantes de manière à choisir des matières végétales autorisées par la réglementation et reconnues pour leur efficacité.

Dès le sourcing des matières, nous veillons à sélectionner des fournisseurs qui sont proches des lieux de production et nous contrôlons les plantes à la réception. Nous comparons également les matières et le taux d’actifs présents entre les différents fournisseurs.

Des tests d’efficacité des produits avec des volontaires sains sont réalisés par des structures indépendantes. Cela nous conforte dans le choix des plantes, la sélection des principes actifs et leur bonne association.

 

De la plante aux compléments alimentaires

Les principes actifs qu’elles contiennent, leur mode d’extraction (poudre, extrait à l’eau ou mélange eau-alcool) et leur mode d’utilisation sont déterminants dans le choix des plantes.

Une fois les matières végétales sélectionnées et les actifs extraits, la formule et le dosage sont établis en fonction du conditionnement, de la durée de la prise du complément alimentaire.

La formule élaborée au laboratoire est ensuite testée au niveau industriel à petite échelle avant une mise en fabrication pour la vente. Comme nous travaillons exclusivement à partir de matières naturelles qui dépendent des récoltes, de l’origine, du traitement, et des fournisseurs, nous devons parfois retravailler la formule de nos produits.

Un travail de veille bibliographique et réglementaire sur les plantes, nous permettent d’approfondir la recherche et d’identifier de nouvelles plantes ou mode d’utilisation.

 

Plus belle réussite

Chez Léa Nature nous utilisons exclusivement des matières naturelles (amidons, gommes, extraits végétaux) à la place des additifs généralement utilisés pour conserver, donner de la couleur ou pour favoriser le passage machine. C’est une vraie différenciation sur le marché des compléments alimentaires.

'+
1
'+
2 - 3
4 - 5
6 - 7
8 - 9
10 - 11
12 - 13
13 - 14
[x]