Julien and Organic Product Flavorings

Let Me Introduce Myself…

Photo de Julien, Conseiller aromatique chez LÉA NATUREHello, my name is Julien, and I have been a flavorist at Léa Nature for the past five years.  My job consists in finding the right flavors for our products.  For the past 3 years, I have also been piloting the teas and herbal infusions produced under the Jardin BiO’ label, from the initial plant mix to the final addition of natural flavors, if needed.

 

My Life as a Researcher

I work with natural flavors, it is a basic premise in organic product regulations.  For such products as cookies, chocolate and drinks, when the raw material in itself does not provide sufficient flavor, I compensate for that with natural aromas from plants, fruit, spices and aromatic plants.

When manufacturing diet products or dietary supplements such as sugar-free cookies, or sweets with no added sugar, or a Vitamin C tablet, the role of flavoring is extremely important et provides a sweet or salty taste.  That’s what my job is all about:  offering incredibly tasty products, that are visually attractive and delicious to eat, even when they contain no sugar or no salt, or when the basic raw materials are not that tasty in the first place.  Those are the challenges I face pretty regularly.

I also add natural flavors to teas or herbal infusions, to compensate for or to cover bitter/sharp flavors such as those produced by hibiscus, dandelion or green tea, so as to ensure that the product delivers on its promises while tasting just right for our customers.  For mint green tea, for instance, I use pure mint in the form of the juice I extract from peppermint.  This is definitely not an artificial flavor developed in a lab.

What I find interesting is creating a link between natural flavors, essential oils and aromatic plants.

 

The Best Part of My Job

Creating flavors and offering mixtures that are not usually considered together.  “Thinking outside the box” allows us to offer innovative products such as our GREEN DETOX TEA WITH RED ORANGE or our “JOY IN A CUP” HERBAL TEA.

 

Quality Flavors

Les arômes dans les produits biologiques | Léa NatureBefore adding any flavors, I organise product tastings with in-house teams of plant experts who are in charge of the sensory qualities of the product.
All incoming raw materials are also checked by our quality control services.  For each new batch of plants we receive, I set up sensory tests to verify the quality of the flavors, which may be affected by climate conditions, soil characteristics, and harvesting conditions.  That way, before we even start thinking about adding flavor, we know that our raw material is of excellent quality.

When I receive flavorings, I also do some sensory testing on them (taste, dilution, dosage, etc.) in order to understand them fully and to blend them accordingly into products.  With experience, I now know pretty quickly if a particular flavoring is up to standard or not.

 

The Story of Our “Joy in a Cup” Herbal Tea

The initial idea was to create a herbal tea with 20 ingredients, to celebrate LÉA NATURE’S 20th birthday.  That was quite a challenge because in general we rarely have more than 7 or 8 ingredients in our teas and infusions, and even with that amount it is difficult to distinguish flavors enough to be able to identify them all. infusion-Léa-Nature

So working with 20 plants, fruits and flowers, I started playing with dosing aromas based on a dominant duo of flavors, and after about 50 trials, “Joy in a Cup” was born.  It is a totally innovative product, both in its content and in its container.  It was so well appreciated by our customers that we are still producing it.

 

What Am I Most Proud Of?

Promoting a positive image of flavorings within LÉA NATURE through the use of natural aromas which make our products extra savory.  We realized that consumers of organic foods expect to have products that are as flavorful as any traditional product.  Nowadays, we often consider whether we want to add a flavor, or maybe a mix of flavors, to our products.

 

Favorite Tea

Mint Green Tea and “Joy in a Cup” Herbal Tea.

Les arômes dans les produits biologiques

Présentation

Je m’appelle Julien et je suis conseiller aromatique chez Léa Nature depuis 5 ans. Mon travail consiste à apporter des solutions aromatiques aux produits. Je pilote également depuis 3 ans l’ensemble des projets thés et infusions de la marque Jardin BiO’, c’est à dire de la mise au point des mélanges de plantes, jusqu’à l’intégration d’arômes naturels, si besoin.

 

Ma vie de chercheur

Je travaille à partir d’arômes naturels, c’est un principe de base défini par la réglementation bio. Pour des produits comme les biscuits, le chocolat et les boissons, lorsque les matières premières ne donnent pas un goût suffisant je compense avec des arômes issus de la nature : plantes, épices, fruits, aromates ou plantes aromatiques.

Dans la fabrication de produits diététiques ou complémentaires alimentaires tel qu’un biscuit sans sucre, sans sucre ajouté ou un comprimé vitamine C, le rôle de l’aromatique est très important et apporte des sensations sucrées ou salées, et c’est là l’enjeu de mon poste : avoir des produits très appétissants, visuellement beaux et bons en bouche tout en étant sans sucre, sans sel ou avec des matières premières qui ne sont pas très agréables à la base. Ce sont des défis que je rencontre souvent.

J’intègre également plusieurs arômes naturels dans les thés et infusions  pour compenser ou masquer des notes amères/astringentes comme celles de l’hibiscus, du pissenlit ou du thé vert, de manière à garantir à la fois la promesse du produit tout en ayant un goût satisfaisant pour le consommateur. Pour un thé vert à la menthe par exemple, j’utilise de la menthe pure dont j’ai récupéré le jus de la menthe poivrée. Ce n’est pas un arome synthétique créé en laboratoire.

Ce qui est intéressant c’est d’arriver à lier les arômes naturels, les huiles essentielles et les plantes aromatiques.

 

La meilleure partie de ce travail

Créer des notes aromatiques et proposer des mélanges qui à la base ne se marient pas forcément ensemble. « Sortir du cadre » permet de proposer des produits innovants comme le THÉ VERT DÉTOX SAVEUR ORANGE SANGUINE ou l’INFUSION DES PETITS BONHEURS.

 

La qualité des arômes

Avant d’intégrer un arôme, j’organise en interne des dégustations de produits avec une équipe d’experts des plantes qui s’assure de la qualité sensorielle du produit. Chaque matière reçue est également contrôlée par le service qualité. Pour chaque nouveau lot de plantes, je mets en place des tests sensoriels pour vérifier la qualité aromatique qui peut varier selon le climat, la terre, récolte. Cela nous permet, avant même de tester un arôme, de savoir si la matière première utilisée est de qualité.

Lorsque je récupère les arômes, je réalise également un travail sensoriel (dégustation, dilution, dosages…) dans le but de mieux les appréhender et mieux les intégrer aux produits. Avec le temps, j’arrive assez vite à savoir si l’arôme va être de qualité ou non.

 

L’histoire de l’infusion des petits bonheurs

L’idée était de créer une infusion avec 20 ingrédients spécialement pour fêter les 20 ans de LÉA NATURE. C’était un pari assez audacieux car il faut savoir qu’il y a 7 à 8 ingrédients maximum dans la plupart de nos thés et infusion et qu’il est déjà très difficile d’avoir des notes aromatiques assez fortes pour toutes les sentir en bouche.

infusion-Léa-Nature

Sur la base de 20 plantes, fruits et fleurs, j’ai travaillé sur différents dosages aromatiques avec une note dominante bi-goût et après une cinquantaine d’essais, l’infusion des petits bonheurs est née. C’est un produit totalement innovant à la fois sur le contenant et sur le contenu. Il a été apprécié des consommateurs si bien que la fabrication continue aujourd’hui.

 

Plus grande fierté

Avoir diffusé au sein de LÉA NATURE une image positive des arômes par l’utilisation d’arômes naturels qui viennent apporter du goût aux produits. On s’est rendu compte que le consommateur bio veut avoir des produits qui sont aussi bons en bouche que les produits conventionnels. Et aujourd’hui on se pose régulièrement la question d’intégrer un arôme ou un mélange aromatique dans nos produits.

 

Thé préféré

Thé vert menthe et infusion des petits bonheurs.

'+
1
'+
2 - 3
4 - 5
6 - 7
8 - 9
10 - 11
12 - 13
13 - 14
[x]